AstroScope Me image 1AstroScope Me image 2AstroScope Me image 3

AstroScope MeAstrologyHoroscopesRelationshipsSoul ConnectionCompatibility

CSS Button Design

Bookmark and Share

How to read your Birth Chart   Part Three: The Elements and Qualities

Your birth chart or horoscope, is usually shown in the form of a wheel, symbolising the cycles periodically undergone by all living things on this planet. The symbols ("glyphs") displayed stand for the astrological signs, planets and other chart factors representing forces which may affect your life at any given time.

Each of these astrological factors represents a coded set of drives in your sub-conscious. Drives may be activated and brought to your awareness by circumstances in your life, presenting you with a range of choices. Of course, your choices are to a considerable extent limited and determined by your character, which is itself revealed through an understanding of the symbols that make up the chart.

The Elements and Qualities

The Elements

The basic structural components of the world are known as elements, modified, or flavoured by their modalities, or qualities. In astrology, four material elements are recognised: Fire, Earth, Air and Water (see table).

Originally conceived by Empedocles in ancient Greece and identified as elements by Plato, they are easily observed in nature but have a subtle character, not to be confused with the chemical elements of the modern periodic table. The astrological elements are expressions of spiritual energies, rather than blind forces.

The Elements (Quadruplicities)

Astrological signs are categorised by their ancient, elemental identities of
Elemental Fire Symbol Fire (spirit & energy),
Elemental Air Symbol Air (intellect & communication),
Elemental Water Symbol Water (emotion & nurture) and
Elemental Earth Symbol Earth (material things & security).

These elements are considered the building blocks of existence at all levels, the universal forces upon which life depends. They interpret a much broader range of experience than the "chemical elements" of modern science, and should not be confused with them. They are also known as the modalities, or quadruplicities.

A fifth element, or quintessence, is the underlying spiritual essence out of which the four material elements are precipitated. The quintessence is not used in practical astrology, though the idea of a spiritual ground has been widespread in science since Aristotle. The quintessence, or æther, is central to spiritual development in many cultures. It is also known as the astral light, or the collective unconscious, and in yoga, the akasha, a sanskrit word meaning "shining". The karmic memory of nature is held to be stored in the akashic records.

The Qualities (Triplicities)

Each sign is also identified by its quality, or modality, that is whether it is
Cardinal (creative),
Fixed (determined) or
Mutable (changeable) in character.

These features are known as the triplicities and are usually interpreted in conjunction with the elements or quadruplicities.

The Fiery signs, for example, are Aries, the Ram (cardinal-fire), Leo, the Lion (fixed-fire) and Sagittarius, the Archer (mutable-fire). The other signs follow a similar pattern (see table).

AstroScope Me

Sign Quality Element
Aries Cardinal Fire
Taurus Fixed Earth
Gemini Mutable Air
Cancer Cardinal Water
Leo Fixed Fire
Virgo Mutable Earth
Sign Quality Element
Libra Cardinal Air
Scorpio Fixed Water
Sagittarius Mutable Fire
Capricorn Cardinal Earth
Aquarius Fixed Air
Pisces Mutable Water

Go Forward  For a much deeper examination of the Signs, Elements and Qualities,
  please click this link to go to our article on Elemental Qualities.

Go to Top
The Zodiac | The Planets | About Astrology | Relationship Analysis | Signs

Bookmark and Share

AstroScope Me

2796 Mayfield Rd, Tarago NSW 2580 Australia
Phone: +61 2 4849 4262 – Fax: +61 2 4849 4262
This page was last modified on Tuesday, 18 February 2020