AstroScope Me image 1AstroScope Me image 2AstroScope Me image 3

AstroScope MeAstrologyHoroscopesRelationshipsSoul ConnectionCompatibility

CSS Button Design

Bookmark and Share
Subscribe to Feed

Astrology Quiz:  Answers to Question 8

Here is the answer to Question 8 of our Astrology Quiz. Follow the links to read more about this subject:

Question Answer Link
List the main Planets
in order with a keyword

Traditional Astrology
Traditional Astrology recognises 7 planets, including the Sun and Moon (but not the Earth).

Here are the planets in the order of the days of the week, which are named after them:
  • Sun (Sunday)
    Inner self; ego
  • Moon (Monday)
    Emotional personality; habits
  • Mars (Tuesday)
    Action; passion
  • Mercury (Wednesday)
    Mentality; communication
  • Jupiter (Thursday)
    Expansion; fortune
  • Venus (Friday)
    Pleasure; aesthetics
  • Saturn (Saturday)
    Restriction; structure
The names of the days still celebrate their ancient guardians, which were identified with the planetary lords and ladies: Sunday, ruled by the Sun; Monday, ruled by the Moon, Tuesday ruled by Mars (Tiw, the ancient saxon god of war was equivalent to Mars in the Roman Pantheon, mardi in French and similarly in other latin-derived tongues); Wednesday (Woden's day, the saxon Mercury, mercredi in French); Thursday (Thor's day, the king of the gods, equivalent to Jupiter, jeudi in French) and Friday, Freya's, or Frigga's day (the saxon Venus, French vendredi) and Saturday, ruled by Saturn.

The other traditional order of the planets is called the Chaldean order, because it was the way that the Chaldeans (Babylonians), the first astrologers, ordered the planets according to the geocentric system. The ancient schema of the cosmos as set out by Ptolemy is:
  • the Earth (comprised of the 4 elements)
  • the sublunary sphere
  • the sphere of the Moon
  • the sphere of Mercury
  • the sphere of Venus
  • the sphere of the Sun
  • the sphere of Mars
  • the sphere of Jupiter
  • the sphere of Saturn
  • the sphere of the Fixed Stars
  • the sphere of the Primum Mobile

The Music of the Spheres is the sound made by these concentric, cosmic spheres as they vibrated in their eternal motion.
Click these links to
read more about
the Planets:
Modern Astrology Modern Astrology recognises 10 planets including the Sun and Moon (but not the Earth). This is the order from the Sun inwards, as described by contemporary astronomers:
  • Sun
    Inner self; ego
  • Mercury
    Mentality; communication
  • Venus
    Pleasure; aesthetics
  • Moon
    Emotional personality; habits
  • Mars
    Action; passion
  • Jupiter
    Expansion; fortune
  • Saturn
    Restriction; structure
The three planets discovered in modern times are:
  • Uranus
    Upheavals; sudden changes
  • Neptune
    Deception; delusion
  • Pluto
    Obstruction; transformation
Other Astrology Some branches of astrology recognise other planets, including Ceres, Chiron and certain asteroids, while others include some invisible planets not recognised by astronomy, such as Vulcan and Trans-Pluto. Traditional and Indian Astrology (Jyotish) count the Moon's Nodes (Rahu and Ketu) as planets, because these sensitive points have as strong an astrological effect as the other planets.  
astrology greenglobe To order your own personal horoscope plus personal forecasts, click here.
astrology greenglobe To read the current FREE forecasts, please click here

Bookmark and Share

AstroScope Me

PO Box 1910 Bowral NSW 2576 Australia
Phone: +61 2 4849 4262 – Fax: +61 2 4849 4262
This page was last modified on Thursday, 26 May 2016